New laws establish five campuses in Nueva Ecija, Cebu

By Prince Golez

President Rodrigo Duterte has signed four laws establishing five campuses in Nueva Ecija and Cebu Province.

Republic Act No. (RA) 11754, signed by Duterte on April 27, 2022, recognizes the Polytechnic University of the Philippines (PUP) Cabiao Campus in Cabiao, Nueva Ecija as a regular campus of the PUP.

Section 3 of the law provides, the PUP-Cabiao Campus should primarily provide short-term, technical-vocational, undergraduate, and graduate courses within its areas of competency and specialization.

The school is also mandated to undertake research and extension services, and to provide progressive leadership in these areas.

It must be headed by a Campus Administrator to be appointed or designated by the Board of Regents of the PUP, upon the recommendation of the search committee and the President of the PUP.

RA 11754 also directs the Board to ensure that the minimum requirements prescribed by the Commission on Higher Education on course offerings and those pertaining to the operation of the PUP-Cabiao Campus as a regular campus are duly complied with.

Meanwhile, RA 11751, 11752, and 11753 establish a regular campus of the Nueva Ecija University of Science and Technology (NEUST) in Nampicuan and Sto. Domingo, Nueva Ecija; and the Cebu Technological University (CTU) in Liloan and Corbon, Cebu.

Under the laws, assets, real and personal, personnel, and records of the NEUST-Nampicuan, NEUST-Sto. Domingo, CTU-Borbon, and CTU-Liloan are transferred to the respective universities.

All parcels of land belonging to the government occupied by said campuses are declared to be the property of the concerned universities, it added.

You may also like
Provincial News